About the Assembly

West Mamprusi Municipal Assembly

Physical and Natural Environment Features

The West Mamprusi Municipal was created in 1988 with the Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 1448 as a Municipal Assembly. In 2012 it was replaced with L.I. 2061 following the creation of the Mamprugu Moagduri District. It was upgraded to West Mamprusi Municipal with LI 2276 in 2018. West Mamprusi Municipal is one of the six administrative Municipal/District Assemblies (MMDAs) in the North East Region of Ghana with Walewale as its capital. Although it is in the Northern Region, it has strong economic and functional linkages with some major settlements in the Upper East Region.

Location and size

West Mamprusi Municipal is located within longitudes 0°35’W and 1°45’W and Latitude 9°55’N and 10°35’N with a total land area of 2610.44 sq km. It shares boundaries with East Mamprusi Municipal to the East, Savelugu Municipal to the South, Talensi-Nabdam to the North and to the West, Mamprugu Moagduri. Other neighboring MMDAs are Karaga to the South-East (SE), Kumbungu to the South West, Builsa South to the North West (NW) and Kassena Nankana East to the North West (NW). The Distance from the capital to the Regional Capital is 109 kilometers by road.